A crime is a crime, even though it is a kind of breaking the traffic rules or even to murdering someone. And due to the increment of daily crimes value, in Virginia, the laws are changing and to provide protection to the people further, the authorities are also very active in giving punishments to the offenders.
However, in Virginia, when you accidentally, mistakenly, or deliberately commits a crime, the authorities may charge you with two kinds of a category is where the first one is a felony and the other one is a misdemeanor. In a felony, the charges are more serious as same as their penalties.
Although, in misdemeanor, the charges are less severe as same as their penalties. But the point is, the offender should have to stay in jail for several days of a time period, or according to the charges. Even though, if you are the first time offender who commits a crime at the first time and you don’t have prior records, they might be the situation would be less severe for you.
But in such circumstances, you need to hire a lawyer as soon as possible to further fight with the case and bring out all the possible witnesses and pieces of evidence.
Class 3 felony is an average kind of charge which will allow the person to stay in jail with an amount of fine as well. The crimes which are charged by this class of felony are included:
- aggravated battery,
- criminal abortion,
- involuntary manslaughter,
- syndicated gambling,
- look-a-like tested material,
- bomb threat,
- calculated cannabis conspiracy,
- aggravated stalking,
- custodial sexual misconduct,
- official misconduct,
- patronizing a prostitute-minor,
- sexual relations within families,
- criminal fortification of a residence or building,
- false entries,
- legislative misconduct,
- insurance fraud above $300,
- advocating the overthrow of a government,
- tampering with the state records, and much more related to these crimes.
Though, when a person commits such crimes, he or she has been charged with the class 3 felony in where he or she may go through imprison for up to two – five years along with the fine of $25,000.
However, the penalties are based on the intensity of the crime and the position of the state. You should have to hire a defense lawyer as soon as possible if you are involved in such crimes, deliberately or not-deliberately.
People should have to understand that these laws are developing to their own protection and rights. If the victims didn’t file a complaint against the offender, then how is this possible for the departments to arrest the person? So, it’s necessary to file a complaint against the offender as soon as you will able to do so.
Or if you are the offender, then you need to talk with a professional defense lawyer in a manner to solve the case further and release all the charges on you.